China’s “National Sustainable Agricultural Development Plan (2015- 2030)”

China releases development plan on sustainable agriculture

(People’s Daily Online)

The plan was jointly compiled by the Ministry of Agriculture, National Development and Reform Commission, Ministry of Science and Technology, Ministry of Finance and others. The plan is an important guide for sustainable agricultural development in the future. It divides China into three zones named optimized development areas, moderate development areas, and protected development areas. The categories take into account factors such as agricultural resources, environmental capacity, and ecological types.

Optimized development areas include the Northeast region, the Huanghuaihai region, the Yangtze River area and South China, which are the main areas for agricultural production. They benefit from good production conditions and excellent potential. Moderate development areas include the northwest region, southwest region and regions along the Great Wall, which have distinctive features of agricultural production but limited resources and environmental capacity. Protected development areas include the Qinghai Tibet region, Tibet, and marine fishery areas. These are placed in a special strategic position addressing aspects of ecological protection and construction.

The plan puts forward five key tasks from 2015 to 2030 in promoting sustainable agricultural development.

Read the full article: People’s Daily

Published by

Willem Van Cotthem

Honorary Professor of Botany, University of Ghent (Belgium). Scientific Consultant for Desertification and Sustainable Development.