A permaculture story

 

Why Partner the Water?

JULY 5, 2015

Why does anyone get into permaculture? I could list many reasons, starting with three – to provide long-term food in a way that restores the land rather than depleting it; to work with, rather than against, natural processes (thus reducing the workload greatly); to create a self-sustaining mini-ecosystem that supports many forms of life, not just human…

For me, it was all of these, coupled with the urgent awareness that Mama Gaia needs help NOW – and that permaculture was one way in which I could help to restore the planet starting with my own backyard.

Five years out, I feel I’m barely beginning. I’ve moved from a long, in-depth observation of my property (and a large number of Band-Aid cures for surface issues!) to a walloping realization: there are some very deep issues to be addressed here. And they all revolve around water…and a bigger understanding of my property as part of a larger watershed.

Read the full article: Partner the water

 

Published by

Willem Van Cotthem

Honorary Professor of Botany, University of Ghent (Belgium). Scientific Consultant for Desertification and Sustainable Development.